top of page

P A C K L I S T

These are core items that always come with me, it is not a base weight. Please check back for future trip reports to see more detailed lists. -All the items below equal a weight of 4.56 pounds.-

PACK: GOSSAMER GEAR KUMO (PREVIOUS MODEL THAN CURRENT)

The pack comes in at 11.4oz after trimming a lot of excess off. I ran the gauntlet on nearly all the UL packs of this volume and this is my favorite. No hip belt, no foam backing, all extra do-hickies I don't use are cut off. I have added simple cord to the shoulder to hold a .7L Gatorade bottle. (Not pictured is a pack liner from Gossamer Gear. 1.30z)

SHELTER: ZPACKS SOLPLEX (.51 OLIVE DRAB) + MISCELLANEOUS STAKES

The Solplex is my ideal shelter. Living where I do and do the majority of my hiking, a fully enclosed shelter is a must for me, personally. I fucking hate bugs. No frills, basically just large enough to sleep...it gets the job done all wrapped up in a 15.5oz package. Stake collection includes 2x Lightsmith hooks for the head/feet tie-outs, 4x Easton nails, 2x MSR Groundhod Minis. 2.2oz total

SLEEP SYSTEM: NEOAIR XLITE REGULAR, BIG SKY DREAM SLEEPER PILLOW, WIND HARD QUILT

I bounce back and forth between 'trying to be' an over-the-top ultralight asshole and using a 1/8" thinlight pad or using my NeoAir. Right now I'm saying fuck it and using my NeoAir. 12.4oz The Big Sky 'Dream Sleeper' pillow is great. I have tried like 6 pillows and this is my favorite. Feels like sleeping on a giant condom so if that's not your thing, either get more comfortable with your sexuality or throw some sort of spare clothing over it. 1.7oz Ah yes, the Wind Hard or Aegismax, whoever the fuck makes it quilt. I'm pretty sure I was the first person to pull the trigger on getting one of these in the states. If you've seen some aggressive asshole defending its honor across the internet, that was me. This thing simply works for me. It cost $86, it weighs 16oz and I have used it to 37* and slept 'good enough'. Most of the people trashing it due to ethical reasons probably have no qualms about eating a cheese burger at a fast food joint, so sit TF down.

COOK SYSTEM (OR LACK THERE OF): A CUP, A SPOON

I go with the 'stoveless/no cook' thing if you can't guess that from the photo.

The container holds 2 cups and is actually a cup that egg drop soup came in from some Chinese take-out. 1oz

The spoon is from my work, Whole Foods. Its non-gmo, vegan, gluten free and fair trade. But really, it's super bendy and takes a lot to break it. .1oz

WATER FILTRATION: KATADYN BEFREE FILTER, SOME BOTTLES

The Katadyn BeFree filter is a no-brainer as far as I'm concerned. It weighs less than a Sawyer Mini and has better flow than the Sawyer Squeeze. The only 'downfall' is the fact that it only works with soft bottles, which doesn't bother me at all. You can filter 1L of water in like 30 seconds or less.

SmartWater bottle stays in a side pocket on my pack. Gatorade bottle stays on my shoulder strap. Filter/soft bottle stay in back mesh pocket. Those 4 items weigh 4.4oz

HEADLAMP: NITECORE THUMB

I love this little guy. It's tiny, gives out enough light to hike at night, its rechargeable and since I always wear a hat with a brim on it, it clips on and works perfect as my headlamp. .8oz

RAIN & SLEEPING SOCKS: FROGG TOGGS UL JACKET, ICEBREAKER MERINO SOCKS

*Yes, I bring more clothes but like I said, these are core items that always come with me no matter what the trip calls for*

The Frogg Toggs jacket works, it cheap as dirt, looks stupid as fuck on anyone and wont last forever. Honestly, whats not to love about it? Size small is 5.2oz

Sleeping socks are a pair of Icebreaker merino wool low cut whatevers that I got from Marshalls for like $4. .9oz


bottom of page